Car insurance is a way to ensure a driver’s financial responsibility. Insurance provides financial compensation to cover victims’ medical expenses, property repairs and other costs after a car accident, preventing a driver from having to pay out of pocket. Connecticut makes it mandatory for all motor vehicle owners to carry minimum amounts of car insurance. Learn more about Connecticut’s car insurance laws to make sure that you meet the requirements.
Connecticut law requires every registered motor vehicle to be covered by adequate amounts of automobile insurance. Like most states, Connecticut imposes minimums on the required amounts of insurance. Failing to maintain car insurance at or above these minimum amounts is against the law and can result in the suspension or revocation of the driver’s license until he or she can show proof of insurance. Currently, Connecticut’s required amounts of insurance are:
Liability insurance pays for someone else’s injuries and losses after a car accident, not the policyholder’s. These types of insurance will pay for basic medical bills, property repairs, and other costs suffered by drivers, passengers and pedestrians who were injured by the policyholder’s mistake or carelessness. If the policyholder wishes to have insurance for his or her own losses after a crash, he or she must purchase collision, comprehensive and/or medical payment insurance for first-party coverage.
In addition to liability insurance, drivers in Connecticut are also required to carry uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance. This is an optional type of coverage in most states but mandatory in Connecticut. It pays for the policyholder’s expenses after an accident involving a driver who does not have enough insurance to pay. It also covers losses after a hit-and-run accident if the driver is unidentified.
Any time that you are stopped by the police, either in a traffic stop or after a car accident, you are legally required to show the officer proof of insurance. Keep a copy of your insurance card in your glovebox or wallet for this reason. If you have insurance but cannot show proof, you may receive a ticket and have to appear in court to prove that you have car insurance.
If you are discovered driving without at least the minimum required amounts of insurance in Connecticut, your vehicle registration and driver’s license may be suspended. Your uninsured vehicle may also be impounded if it has a suspended registration. In addition, you will have to pay a fine of $100 to $1,000, depending on the circumstances. The fine increases to up to $5,000 (plus possible jail time) for knowingly driving a commercial vehicle without insurance.
If you get into a car accident and find out that the other driver involved in your wreck is driving without the required amounts of car insurance, write down his or her information and call the police. Always report an accident involving an uninsured driver to the police, as they can ticket the driver and require him or her to obtain car insurance before getting back on the road. Additionally, if you are injured by the accident be sure to seek medical attention promptly.
When it comes time to file an insurance claim, call your own car insurance company to seek benefits from your uninsured/underinsured motorist policy. If you encounter problems obtaining fair financial compensation from your insurance company, if you reach your policy limits but still have crash-related expenses or if you have any other issues during the recovery process, contact a car accident lawyer for assistance. A lawyer can investigate the crash, search for all possible outlets for financial recovery and take over the claims process on your behalf.