Car insurance is a way to guarantee that a motor vehicle driver has the financial resources to pay for a car accident if he or she causes a crash. Automobile insurance is a legal requirement for drivers in all 50 states. If you choose to drive a motor vehicle in Connecticut, you lawfully must purchase and maintain the correct amounts of car insurance. Otherwise, you could face penalties, such as a fine and the suspension of your driver’s license.
The types of insurance that are required in Connecticut are connected to the state’s fault-based car insurance system. This system states that the driver at fault for causing a car accident must pay for victims’ medical bills and property repairs. For this reason, all drivers must carry minimum required amounts of liability insurance to ensure that they can afford these costs. Currently, the mandatory types and amounts of insurance in Connecticut are:
There are also optional types of automobile insurance available in Connecticut, such as comprehensive and collision coverage, medical payment insurance, rental car reimbursement, and uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance. If you wish to ensure the coverage of your losses after a car accident, you may wish to purchase one of these optional types of insurance.
If a driver does not carry at least the minimum required amounts of car insurance when operating a motor vehicle in Connecticut, he or she could face a fine of $100 to $1,000 and driver’s license suspension for one to six months. Subsequent convictions for driving without insurance will result in greater penalties. Drivers must also carry proof of insurance with them while operating a motor vehicle. If you get pulled over and do not have proof of insurance to show to the police officer, you may receive a ticket and have to demonstrate that you have insurance before you can drive again.
If you get into a car accident where your injuries and property damage are extensive, you may run into problems obtaining the amount of financial compensation that you need if the other driver only has the minimum amounts of liability insurance required by Connecticut law. In this situation, you may need to pursue additional compensation from a different source for the remaining amount.
The courts in Connecticut may allow you to file a lawsuit against the at-fault driver to sue for the remainder that you need to pay for your damages. If the court rules in your favor, the other driver may have to pay out of pocket, even if this means liquidating assets or garnishing wages. There may also be a third party you can hold responsible for the car accident, depending on the circumstances. An experienced Stratford car accident attorney can help you explore third-party liability, such as the manufacturer of a defective car part.
If the other driver was breaking the law by driving without insurance – or with less than the required amounts of insurance – you may not have his or her insurance company to rely on for financial coverage. In this scenario, contact your own car insurance company right away to discuss the option of a first-party claim. If you have insurance beyond Connecticut’s minimum requirements, you may have coverage for your own losses. If a first-party claim is not an option, contact a car accident lawyer in Milford or other Connecticut cities to explore your other options.